I am a misfit everywhere I go

I attended a seminar yesterday. There were many people in attendance – professors, Ph.D. students, post-docs. The speaker was a tall, soft-spoken guy with a monotonous voice. As he was presenting the findings from the research in his lab, I realized that I really didn’t care to listen. And then I felt guilty for not caring. At the end of his talk, we all got up to leave and I looked around the room. That’s when it hit me. All of the people here were smarter, more motivated and happier than myself. They all fit nicely in the environment. I, on the other hand, am a misfit. In fact, I have never fit in. And yet, despite being an underachieving loser who did not fit in, I just blended with the crowd. I was just another face. And when (if) I graduate, I will still be another face. Only difference is between me and the others is that I will still be a misfit.

Leave a Reply

